Islamic Months Name in Order

Islamic months hold special significance in the Islamic calendar, as they mark important events and observances for Muslims worldwide. The Hijri calendar, also known as the lunar calendar, comprises of 12 months and is based on the cycles of the moon. Each month has its own unique name and history, carrying a deep sense of spirituality and tradition.

3Rabi’ al-Awwal
4Rabi’ al-Thani
5Jumada al-Awwal
6Jumada al-Thani
11Dhu al-Qi’dah
12Dhu al-Hijjah

Muharram: This is the first month of the Hijri calendar and is perceived as the holy month of ALLAH. It memorialize the martyrdom of Imam Hussain (RA) in the Battle of Karbala 61 AH in Karbala Iraq.

Safar: The second month, Safar, is associated with various historical events, and its name is derived from the word “safar,” meaning “to be empty.” It marks the time when pre-Islamic tribes used to leave their homes for trade or battle, leaving their settlements empty.

Rabi’ al-Awwal: This month is significant as it marks the birth anniversary of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), widely celebrated as Eid Milad-un-Nabi. It is also known as Rabi’ al-Thani.

Rabi’ al-Thani: The second month of Rabi’ is less eventful, and it is a time for Muslims to reflect on their faith and strengthen their connection with Allah.

Jumada al-Awwal: The fifth month among Islamic months is named Jumada al-Awwal, which means “the first Jumada.” It is a specific period to remember the blessings of Allah and seek His guidance.

Jumada al-Thani: Following the first Jumada, the sixth month, Jumada al-Thani, allows Muslims to continue their spiritual journey and strive for righteousness.

Rajab: Rajab is one of the holy months and holds great significance in Islam. It is a time for spiritual, sacred, mystic, divine absolution and preparation for the fasting month of Ramadan.

Sha’ban: This month is known as the month of “separation” as it falls between two important months, Rajab and Ramadan. It is a particular period for all Muslims to enlist extra prayers and seek forgiveness.

Ramadan: The ninth month is the holiest month in the lunar calendar, as it is the time of fasting (Sawm) from sunrise to sunset. It is a period of heightened devotion, reflection, and charity.

Shawwal: Following Ramadan, the month of Shawwal commences with the joyous celebration of Eid al-Fitr, signifying the conclusion of fasting and ushering in a period of joyful festivities.

Dhu al-Qi’dah: This month is considered one of the sacred months in Islam and serves as a preparatory month before Dhu al-Hijjah.

Dhu al-Hijjah: The last one of the Islamic months holds great importance, as it is the month of Hajj pilgrimage to Mecca. Muslims from around the globe gather to perform this mandatory religious duty.

Understanding the significance of each Islamic month allows Muslims to align their lives with the principles of their faith and engage in meaningful spiritual practices throughout the year. These months serve as reminders of historical events, acts of devotion, and opportunities for spiritual growth and reflection.