Head of State – Pakistan | Presidents, PM, Governor Generals

The leaders of the Muslim League declined Lord Mountbatten, the last British viceroy of India, as Pakistan’s inaugural governor-general or head of state in August 1947. Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah took oath as the first Governer General of Pakistan on 15 August 1947. After Jinnah, the nation witnessed several prominent personalities taking on this role, each leaving their mark on the nation’s journey. They navigated the nation through its initial challenges, working to consolidate the newly formed state and establish its identity. Iskander Mirza, a prominent diplomat, became the last Governor-General and the first President of Pakistan in 1956. His term marked the transition from the Governor-General’s position to a republic.

List of Governor Generals of Pakistan and their tenure

Governor Generals of Pakistan
1Quaid-i-Azam Mohammed Ali Jinnah14.08.1947 to 11.09.1948
2Khawaja Nazimuddin14.09.1948 to 18.10.1951
3Mr. Ghulam Mohammed19.10.1951 to 06.08.1955
4Major General Iskandar Mirza07.08.1955 to 22.03.1956

Heads of State

The president of Pakistan is the head of state, nominal head of executive head and supreme commander of the Pakistan Armed Forces. The President ensures that the country’s constitution is supported and followed as well as ensure that laws and government actions are in line with the Constitution. The President serves as a symbol of unity and sovereignty representing the whole nation. The office of President was introduced on 23 March 1956 and Iskander Mirza assumed as the first President (not elected) of Pakistan.

List of Presidents of Pakistan from 1956 to 2023

Presidents of Pakistan
1Major General Iskander Mirza23.03.1956 to 26.10.1958
2Field Marshal Mohammad Ayub Khan27.10.1958 to 24.03.1969
3General Agha Mohammad Yahya Khan25.03.1969 to 19.12.1971
4Zulfikar Ali Bhutto20.12.1971 to 14.08.1973
5Fazal Elahi Chaudhry14.08.1973 to 15.09.1978
6General Mohammad Zia-ul-Haq16.09.1978 to 16.08.1988
7Ghulam Ishaq Khan17.08.1988 to 08.07.1993
                             Wasim Sajjad (Acting)18.07.1993 to 14.11.1993
8Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari14.11.1993 to 01.12.1997
                             Wasim Sajjad (Acting)02.12.1997 to 01.01.1998
9Muhammad Rafiq Tarar01.01.1998 to 19.06.2001
10General Pervez Musharraf20.6.2001 to 17.08.2008
                            Muhammad Mian Soomro (Acting) 18.08.2008 to 09.09.2008
11Asif Ali Zardari09.09.2008 to 08.09.2013
12Mamnoon Hussain09.09.2013 to 08.09.2018
13Arif Alvi09.09.2018 to date

Prime Ministers of Pakistan

Liaquat Ali Khan was the first Prime Minister of Pakistan took oath on 15 August 1947. He was the 5th choice of Quaid-e-Azam as P.M. He served as the finance minister in the interim government of United India. Total of 23 Prime Ministers served Pakistan from 1947 to 2023. 23rd was Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif.

List of PM of Pakistan from 1947 to 2023

Prime Ministers of Pakistan
1Liaqat Ali Khan15.08.1947 to 16.10.1951
2Khawaja Nazimuddin17.10.1951 To 17.04.1953
3Mohammad Ali Bogra17.04.1953 To 11.08.1955
4Ch. Mohammed Ali11.08.1955 To 12.09.1956
5Hussain Shaheed Suharwardi12.09.1956 To 18.10.1957
6Ibrahim Ismail Chaundrigar18.10.1957 To 16.12.1957
7Malik Feroz Khan Noon16.12.1957 To 07.10.1958
8Noor.ul.Amin07.12.1971 To 20.12.1971
9Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto14.08.1973 To 05.07.1977
10Muhammad Khan Junejo23.03.1985 To 29.05.1988
11Mohtrama Benazir Bhutto02.12.1988 To 06.08.1990
12Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif06.11.1990 To 18.04.1993
                                              Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif26.05.1993 To 08.07.1993
13Mohtrama Benazir Bhutto19.10.1993 To 05.11.1996
14Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif17.02.1997 To 12.10.1999
15Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali23.11.2002 To 26.06.2004
16Chuadhary Shujaat Hussain30.06.2004 To 26.08.2004
17Shaukat Aziz28.08.2004 To 15.11.2007
18Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani25.03.2008 To 25.04.2012
19Raja Pervez Ashraf22.06.2012 To 24.03.2013
20Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif05.06.2013 To 28.07.2017
21Shahid Khaqan Abbasi01.08.2017 To 31.05.2018
22Imran Khan18.08.2018 To 10.04.2022
23Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif11.04.2022 To 14.08.2023

Caretaker Government in Pakistan

The caretaker government in Pakistan plays a crucial role in protecting the democratic principles of fairness, transparency, and equality. The purpose of this government is to ensure a smooth transition of power when the term of an elected government terminates. It assists as an interim executive with limited powers and responsibilities whose primarily focus is to supervise the election process, maintaining law and order and insure a level playing field for all political parties contesting in the upcoming election. So far, Pakistan experienced 8 caretaker Prime Ministers among which Ghulam Mustafa Khan Jatoi was the first to take charge and Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar is the current and 8th caretaker PM of Pakistan.

List of Caretaker PM of Pakistan till 2023

Caretaker PM of Pakistan
1Ghulam Mustafa Khan Jatoi06.08.1990 To 06.11.1990
2Mir Balakh Sher Mazari18.04.1993 To 26.05.1993
3Moin Qureshi08.07.1993 To 19.10.1993
4Malik Meraj Khalid06.11.1996 To 17.02.1997
5Muhammad Mian Soomro16.11.2007 To 24.03.2008
6Mir Hazar Khan Khoso25.03.2013 To 05.06.2013
7Justice (Retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk01.06.2018 To 18.08.2018
8Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar14.08.2023 To date

Leave a Comment